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MEDICARE  
Eligible Persons:  Age 65, on disability for 2 years or diagnosed 
with end-stage renal disease (on dialysis or in need of a transplant) 
Apply at Social Security. 
 
COVERAGE: 
Part A — Hospitalization through Blue Cross/Blue Shield 
 
Part B —  Medical Coverage for Doctors, Equipment and Supplies 
   through Noridian Administrative Services 
 
DEDUCTIBLES:   
Part A:     $1,132.00 each benefit period 
Part B:     $162.00 annually 
 
PREMIUMS: Monthly 
Part A — $450.00 for uninsured and certain disabled individuals with 
less than 30 quarters. 
    $248.00 for those credited with 30-39 quarters of 
coverage. 
 
Part B— Based on annual income.   

 For higher incomes beginning in 2011, the Affordable Care Act 
requires Part D enrollees to pay to Medicare in addition to their Part 
D plan premiums, a monthly income related adjustment.  That 
adjustment is reflected below.   
 Additionally, approximately 27 percent of beneficiaries will pay 
$110.50 or $115.40 because they are not subject to the hold-
harmless provision.  Those affected include new enrollees during the 
2010 year, those with higher incomes (see below) and beneficiaries 
who do not have their Part B premiums withheld from their social 
security benefit payments, including those who qualify for both 
Medicare and Medicaid and have their Part B premiums paid on their 
behalf by Medicaid.++ 

 
If individual income is  Pt. B Premium  Pt. D Adjustment 
Less than $85,000    $96.40     $0.00 
       (protected by hold  
       harmless provision)  
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If individual income is  Pt. B Premium  Pt. D Adjustment 
Less than $85,000   $115.40 ++    $0.00 
$85,000 to $107,000   $161.50     $12.00 
$107,000 to $160,000   $230.70     $31.10 
$160,000 to $214,000   $299.90     $50.10 
Greater than $214,000  $369.10     $69.10 
 
Appeal Time: 180 days on initial appeal and 60 days for a request 
for reconsideration. 
 
 

MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE  
If you have not enrolled in a Medicare Prescription Drug 

Plan, please go to www.Medicare.gov or call GeorgiaCares 
at  

1-800-669-8387 
 

HOSPITAL MEDICARE 
 
Medicare pays up to 90 days for each spell of illness. For the first 60 
days, Medicare pays 100% of covered hospital services.  For the 61st 
through the 90th day, Medicare pays all but $283.00 per day. 
 
Lifetime Reserve Days: Every Medicare beneficiary has 60 days 
that they may use in their lifetime to cover days in the hospital that 
exceed the Medicare limit of 90.  Once these 60 days have been used, 
they are not replaced.  When one of these days is used, Medicare will 
pay everything except the first $566.00 per day. 

 
NURSING HOME MEDICARE 

 
Medicare pays for Skilled Care only.  One must have been hospitalized 
for 3 consecutive days before entering the nursing home.  For the first 
20 days, Medicare pays all of the covered costs.  For the 21st-100th 
day, there is a co-insurance payment of $141.50 per day and 
Medicare pays the rest.  After 100 days, Medicare pays nothing. 
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http://www.medicare.gov/


 
 

MEDICAID 
 
If one is eligible for SSI/TANF, then one is eligible for Medicaid. 
The Department of Community Health’s Division of Medical 
Assistance administers Georgia Medicaid: 1-800-766-4456 or 
(404) 298-1228, Application is made at DFCS.  If you lose your 
TANF/SSI, you do not necessarily lose Medicaid.  The State must 
make an independent determination. 
 

 
MEDICAID COVERED SERVICES 
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Ambulatory Surgical Services 
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists 
Childbirth Education Services 
Children’s Intervention Services 
Community Based Alternatives (SOURCE) 
Dental Services (some) 
Diagnostic, Screening and Preventive Services   
Dialysis Services 

  Durable Medical Equipment Rental (hospital beds,  
   wheelchairs, crutches and walkers prescribed by  
   doctors) 

Emergency Ambulance Services   
EPSDT (Early and Periodic Screening Diagnosis and  
 Treatment) 

 Family Planning  
 Georgia Better Health Care 
 Health Insurance Premiums (Medicare: Part A and  
  Part B, QMB, SLMB) 
 Home health 
 Hospice Services 
 Inpatient and Outpatient Hospital Services  
  



MEDICAID SERVICES (continued) 
  
 Intermediate Care for the Mentally Retarded Facility  
  Services 
 Laboratory/ X-ray Services 
 Medicare Crossovers 
 Mental Health Clinic Services 
 Non-emergency transportation  (12 doctors visits per year 

unless more medically justified) 
 Nurse Practitioner Services 
 Nursing Home Services 

Oral Surgery 
Orthotic and Prosthetic  
Pharmacy Services:  NOTE: MEDICARE eligible recipients 
must be enrolled in a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan  
Physician Services 
Physician’s Assistant Services 
Podiatric Services 
Pre-Admission Screening/Annual Resident Review 
Pregnancy Related Services 
Psychological Services   

 Retroactive Medicaid (3 mos.)  
 Rural Health Clinic/Community Health Center Services 
 Swing Bed Services 
 Targeted Case Management Services 

 Adults w/ Aids 
 Chronically Mentally Ill 
 Early Intervention 
 Perinatal 
 Therapeutic Residential Intervention 

 Vision Care Services 
 Waiver Services 

 Community Care 
 Independent Care 
 Mental Retardation 
 Community Habilitation and Support 
 Traumatic Brain Injury 
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Transfer of Assets for Long Term Care Medicaid: In Medicaid 
for long-term care, which includes nursing home and the 
community care services program, where assets are transferred 
for less than the Fair Market Value within 60 months before 
application for Medicaid is filed; a person may be disqualified for a 
period equal to the value transferred.   
 
(Contact the Division of Aging Services for more information about 
this subject in our publication, “Medicaid for Long Term Care”.) 
 
 

COMMUNITY CARE SERVICES PROGRAM  
 
This program provides Medicaid Coverage and in-home services 
for persons who are nursing home eligible but choose to stay in 
their own homes.  If a person's income level exceeds the Federal 
Benefit Rate for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients, 
there is a cost share to participate in the program.  $2,022 is the 
cap for eligibility.  Income exceeding this amount will require a 
QIT or Miller Trust for eligibility.  Cost share is based upon the 
amount of income over the SSI amount. Some of the services 
available include Personal Care Aide, Adult Day Health, Emergency 
Response System, Nursing Services, etc. 
 
For more information, contact the Community Care Services 
Program Office for your area through the Area Agency on Aging. 
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NURSING HOME MEDICAID ( No Change for 2011) 

 7 

 
This is a program that enables people, aged, blind or disabled who 
need nursing home care but are unable to afford it a means by 
which to receive care through the Medicaid program.  Income 
exceeding the amount below will require a QIT or Miller Trust in 
order to ensure eligibility. 
 
Income limit:  up to $2,022 per month – per person 
Resources limit:  $2,000 individual   $3,000 couple 
 

 
 

SPOUSAL IMPOVERISHMENT (No Change for 2011)  
 
This is a program that can prevent a married couple from having 
to spend down all of their resources.  The program allows the 
spouse who remains at home, the Community Spouse, who is not 
receiving Medicaid, to keep up to $2,739.00 of the couple's 
income and $109,560.00 of the couple's resources.   
 
Allowable Resources: the home, a $10,000.00 limit for burial 
exclusions for A/R and for the spouse, including accounts, life 
insurance and preneeds contracts, $2,000.00 savings for the A/R, 
household furnishings, certain automobiles, and some other 
items 
 
Example: For a Nursing Home bill of $2,000/month, where the 
community spouse has $1,000.00 income and the nursing home 
resident has $1,200 income; the calculations will be as follows: 
Step 1:   

The Nursing Home Resident receives income in the amount of 
$1,200: 
   
 



 
$1,200 income (-) $50.00 Personal Needs Allowance (-) 
$130.00 in excess medical expenses (=) $1,020.00 available 
income 
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Step 2: 
The Community Spouse receives $1,000.00 income: 

           
$1,000.00 income (+) $1,020.00 from NH resident (=) 
$2020.00 total income which is less than $2,739.00, 
therefore community spouse keeps $2,020.00 income, 
leaving $0.00 for the resident’s contribution to the nursing 
home bill and the Medicaid payment is  $2,000.  

 
Incurred excess medical expenses not covered by Medicaid, (i.e. 
dentures, some medications and chiropractic care) may be 
deducted from the NH resident's income.  Most medications 
should be covered by the NH resident’s Medicare Prescription Drug 
Plan for those on Medicare and NH Medicaid. DFCS must be 
notified.     
                                  
 

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) 
 
For: Those age 65 or older, blind or disabled with income as 
provided below.  Apply at Social Security.   
  

January 2011 (No Increase) 
 
   Individual: $674.00 per month 
   Couple:  $1,011.00 per month 
  
There is a resource limit of $2,000.00 for an individual and 
$3,000.00 for a couple.  Resources include things like cash, 
savings, CDs, etc.  Certain things are excluded from resources.   
 
 



 
 
Examples of things excluded from resources are: home, car up to 
$4,500, prepaid burial plots, caskets, vaults etc. and up to $1,500 
in a burial account, household goods up to $2,000, 
trade/business, life insurance face value up to $1,500.  Appeal 
Time: 60 days.   
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Pickle People: If you received SS/SSI in the same month and 
SSI was canceled due to cost of living increase, you may be 
eligible for continued Medicaid if you are eligible but for the cost of 
the living increase.  Apply at DFCS. 

 
 

Adult Medically Needy "Spend Down" 
 

Eligible persons are those who are aged 65 or older, blind or 
disabled with high medical bills and income too high for other 
categories of Medicaid.  Total unpaid bills must bring income 
below the required limits. Apply at DFCS. 
 

January 2011 
$337.00 
$395.00 

 
Resources:  $2,000 individual     $4,000 couple 

 
Appeal Time: 30 days



 

 10 

 
MEDICARE BUY-IN PROGRAMS 

 
There are programs that enable a person with limited income to 
assist with paying for the cost of having Medicare.  Income limits 
change every year when the Federal Poverty Levels change.  
Apply at DFCS. 
 
1.  Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) 

Covers Part B Premium, Co-insurance and Part A & B 
Deductibles. (Does Not PAY for prescriptions). 

 
Income Limit:   
(Thru March 2011)  
Individual  $   923.00 
Couple   $1,235.00 

 
2. Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLIMB) only 

covers the Part B Premium. 
 

Income Limit:  
(Thru March 2011) 
Individual  $1,103.00 
Couple   $1,477.00      

 
*Ask about the availability of benefits under the Q-1 program that 

pays the Part B premium.  
 

Effective January 1, 2010, the three Medicare Savings Programs began using the Part D 
low-income subsidy (LIS) asset amount, indexed each year according to the Consumer 
Price Index. 
Resources: $6,680 individual       $10,020 couple 
 
Appeal Time:  30 days (10 days for continued benefits) 

 
 



 
MEDICARE PART D SUBSIDIES (“Extra Help”) 
Full- Provides drug subsidy with low co-payments to 
Medicare beneficiaries with incomes up to 135% of federal 
poverty level and limited resources.  Apply at Social 
Security. 
Income Limit: $1,218.00 individual per month 
     $1,640.00 couple per month 
  
Partial- Provides a partial subsidy of premium, deductible 
and co-insurance to Medicare beneficiaries with incomes up to 
150% of poverty and limited resources.  
Income limit:  $1,354.00 individual per month 
    $1,822.00 couple per month 

 
HOSPICE 

Hospice cares for the terminally ill and their families.  The goal is 
not to cure but to provide care and counseling to make the final 
stages of life more comfortable.  Hospice, provided by a public or 
private agency that is Medicare or Medicaid approved is for all 
ages, including children and adults. 
 
Services available: 

 Nursing services 
 Medical social services 
 Physician services 
 Counseling 
 Homemaker services 
 Medical equipment (such as wheelchairs, walkers, hospital 
beds) 

 Medical supplies (bandages, catheters) 
 Prescription drugs for pain 
 Short term stay in the hospital for respite care 
 Home health aide  
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 Physical and occupational therapy 
 Speech therapy 
 Social worker services 
 Dietary counseling 
 Grief counseling 
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Services Not Covered By Hospice 

 Treatment to cure the terminal illness 
 Care from a hospice provider other than your hospice 
provider 

 The same type of care that your hospice care provider is 
giving you 
 

Medicare Hospice  
 

You pay a possible $5.00 for each outpatient prescription drug 
and similar products for pain relief and symptom control and 
possibly a 5% of the Medicare per day payment amount for 
inpatient respite care.  Medications for one in hospice are also 
covered by either Medicare Part B or Part D. 
 
Medicaid Hospice 

Income limit: $2,022 per month 
 

Resources:  $2,000 individual     $3,000 couple 
 
 
 
 
 



 
Food Stamps (through September 2011) 

Federal Program renamed “SNAP” 
(Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) 

    
    (Elderly) 
HH Size 165% of 

Poverty 
Gross 
130% 

 Net Income 
    100%   

Max 
Allotment 

1 $1,490 $1,174 $   903 $200 
2 $2,004 $1,579 $1,215 $367 
3 $2,518 $1,984 $1,526 $526 
4 $3,032 $2,389 $1,838 $668 
5 $3,547 $2,794 $2,150 $793 
6 $4,061 $3,200 $2,461 $952 
7 $4,575 $3,605 $2,773 $1,052 
8 $5,089 $3,406 $3,085 $1,202 

Each 
additional 

person 

+$515 +$406 +$312 +$150 

 13 

 
    An elderly or disabled person's food stamp allotment is 
based upon their net income.  Most households must meet the 
maximum gross income to even be considered eligible for the 
program and then meet the net income limit.  Apply at DFCS.  
Multiply the net income by .3 and subtract that figure from 
the maximum food stamp allotment to obtain the HH 
allotment. 
 
Resources: $3,000 elderly (60 and over) $2,000 non-elderly 
 
Exempt Resources: Home and lot; household goods; cars with 
FMV under $4,650 or cars exempt because used for income 
production, long distance work, as home or for transporting 
disabled.  Appeal Time: 90 days (10 days continued 
benefits). 
 



 
 
 
Medical expenses in excess of $35.00 can be used to 
increase food stamp allotments for the elderly.  These 
would include one-time medical bills and recurring 
expenses such as Medicare and insurance premiums, 
(when paid by the recipient) and doctor visits.  This now 
includes medical mileage defined as transportation to and 
from medical appointments and the pharmacy in the 
recipient’s own vehicle.  Mileage expenses should be 
reported on Form 840-Medical Transportation Log which is 
available from DFCS. For transportation by taxi, bus, 
train, etc. use the actual cost of the trip to claim it as an 
expense.  
 
      

Other Food Stamp Budget Allowances 
 
Standard Deduction:  $142.00 maximum (1-3 people) 

$153.00 (4+ people) 
 
Shelter Deduction:   $458.00   

For elderly households:  all shelter costs over half the 
household income may be deducted (i.e. rent/mortgage, 
taxes, interest, utilities – gas, electricity and water) 

 
A Dependent care deduction for work, training or education  
 
A 20% deduction for earned income 
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For Assistance with the Programs Discussed In This 
Brochure See The Following: 

 
DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY AND CHILDREN SERVICES 
(Contact the office in your county) 

 
 1.  Nursing Home Medicaid 
 2.  Spousal Impoverishment 
 3.  QMB or SLIMB 
 4.  Adult Medically Needy "Spend Down" 
 5.  Food Stamps 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION 

 (1-800-772-1213) 
 1. Social Security 
 2. Supplemental Security Income 
 3. Low income Subsidy or Medicare Part D “Extra Help” 
 
 MEDICARE  
 (1-800-MEDICARE)”1-800-633-4227” 
  
 MEDICARE PART B CLAIMS 
 1-800-633-4227 
 
 MEDICARE PART A CLAIMS  
 1-800-633-4227 
  

GEORGIA HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CARE 
ORGANIZATION 

 404-323-9397 or 1-877-924-6073 
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GEORGIA CARES 
For information on prescription drug plans, Medicare and 
other health insurance options 

 1-800-669-8387 
   
 COMMUNITY CARE SERVICES PROGRAM 

Information is available from the Area Agency on Aging Office 
for your area.  
 
MEDICAID 
Department Of Community Health 

 Division of Medical Assistance 
 1-800-766-4456 or (404) 298-1228 
 
 GEORGIA SENIOR LEGAL HOTLINE 

Brief legal advice over the phone for people 60 years of age 
and older 

 1-888-257-9519 or (404) 657-9915 
 
 ELAP (Elderly Legal Assistance Program) 

Legal assistance program providing civil information, 
education and representation at no cost to persons 60 years 
of age and older when brief telephone legal advice is not 
enough. 
 
For the program that serves your area, contact your Area 
Agency on Aging Office or the Division of Aging Services at  
1-866-552-4464 or (404) 657-5319   
 
LONG TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN PROGRAM 
If you have someone in a personal care home or nursing 
home that needs an advocate or an extra voice, contact the 
local ombudsman. 
1-888-454-5826 or (404) 463-8383 



AREA AGENCIES ON AGING 
 

Atlanta Regional 
Commission 

Home Office:  Atlanta 
 (404) 463-3333 
1-800-676-2433 

 
Central Savannah River 

Area 
Home Office:  Augusta 

1-888-922-4464 
 

Coastal Georgia 
Home Office:  Brunswick 

1-800-580-6860 
 

GA Mountains (Legacy 
Link, Inc.)  

Home Office:  Gainesville 
1-800-845-5465 

 
Heart of Georgia 

Altamaha 
Home Office:  Baxley 
1-888-367-9913 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
River Valley 

Home Office:  Columbus 
1-800-615-4379 

 
Middle Georgia 

Home Office:  Macon 
1-888-548-1456 

 
Northeast Georgia 
Home Office:  Athens 
1-800-474-7540 

 
Northwest Georgia 
Home Office:  Rome 
1-800-759-2963 

 
Southern Georgia 

Home Office:  Waycross 
1-888-732-4464 

 
Three Rivers/Southern 

Crescent 
Home Office:  Franklin 

1-866-854-5652 
 

Southwest Georgia 
Home Office:  Albany 
1-800-282-6612 
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Natalie K. Thomas 
Attorney at Law 

State Legal Services Developer 
Division of Aging Services 

2 Peachtree Street, NW; Suite 9.398 
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3142 

1-866-55AGING 
or 

(404) 657-5328 
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nkthomas@dhr.state.ga.us
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