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MEDICARE  
 
Eligible Persons:  Age 65, on disability for 2 years or diagnosed 
with end-stage renal disease (on dialysis or in need of a transplant) 
Apply at Social Security. 

 
COVERAGE: 
Part A — Hospitalization through Blue Cross/Blue Shield 

 

Part B — Medical Coverage for Doctors, Equipment and Supplies 

  through Noridian Administrative Services 

 
DEDUCTIBLES:   
Part A:  $1,156.00 each benefit period 
Part B:  $140.00 annually 
 

PREMIUMS: Monthly 
Part A — $451.00 for uninsured and certain disabled individuals with 
less than 30 quarters; $248.00 for those credited with 30-39 
quarters of coverage. 

 
Part B — Based on annual income.   

 For higher incomes beginning in 2011, the Affordable Care Act 

requires Part D enrollees to pay to Medicare in addition to their Part 

D plan premiums, a monthly income related adjustment.  That 

adjustment is reflected below.   

 

If individual income is  Pt. B Premium  Pt. D Adjustment 

$85,000 or less    $99.90     $0.00 

        

If individual income is  Pt. B Premium  Pt. D Adjustment 

$85,001 to $107,000   $139.90     $11.60 

$107,001 to $160,000   $199.80     $29.90 

$160,001 to $214,000   $259.70     $48.10 

Greater than $214,000  $319.00     $66.40 

 
Appeal Time: 180 days on initial appeal and 60 days for a request 
for reconsideration. 
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MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE  
If you have not enrolled in a Medicare Prescription Drug 

Plan, please go to www.Medicare.gov or call GeorgiaCares 
at  

1-800-669-8387 
 

HOSPITAL MEDICARE 
 
Medicare pays up to 90 days for each spell of illness. For the first 60 
days, Medicare pays 100% of covered hospital services.  For the 61st 
through the 90th day, Medicare pays all but $289.00 per day. 

 
Lifetime Reserve Days: Every Medicare beneficiary has 60 days 
that they may use in their lifetime to cover days in the hospital that 
exceed the Medicare limit of 90. Once these 60 days have been used, 
they are not replaced. When one of these days is used, Medicare will 
pay everything except the first $578.00 per day. 

 

NURSING HOME MEDICARE 
 
Medicare pays for Skilled Care only. One must have been hospitalized 
for 3 consecutive days before entering the nursing home.  For the first 
20 days, Medicare pays all of the covered costs.  For the 21st-100th 
day, there is a co-insurance payment of $144.50 per day and 
Medicare pays the rest. After 100 days, Medicare pays nothing. 

 

MEDICAID 
 
If one is eligible for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or 
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF), then one is 
eligible for Medicaid. The Georgia Department of Community 
Health’s Division of Medical Assistance administers Georgia 
Medicaid: 1-800-766-4456 or (404) 298-1228, Application is 
made at the Division of Family and Children Services 
county office.  If you lose your SSI or TANF, you do not 

http://www.medicare.gov/
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necessarily lose Medicaid.  The State must make an independent 
determination. 
 

MEDICAID COVERED SERVICES 
 

 Ambulatory Surgical Services 

 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists 

 Childbirth Education Services 

 Children’s Intervention Services 

 Community Based Alternatives (SOURCE) 

 Dental Services (some) 

 Diagnostic, Screening and Preventive Services   

 Dialysis Services 

 Durable Medical Equipment Rental (hospital beds, 
wheelchairs, crutches and walkers prescribed by doctors) 

 Emergency Ambulance Services   

 EPSDT (Early and Periodic Screening Diagnosis and 
Treatment) 

 Family Planning  

 Georgia Better Health Care 

 Health Insurance Premiums (Medicare: Part A and Part B, 
QMB, SLMB) 

 Home health 

 Hospice Services 

 Inpatient and Outpatient Hospital Services  

 Intermediate Care for the Mentally Retarded Facility  
Services 

 Laboratory/ X-ray Services 

 Medicare Crossovers 

 Mental Health Clinic Services 

 Non-emergency transportation (12 doctors visits per year 
unless more medically justified) 

 Nurse Practitioner Services 

 Nursing Home Services 

 Oral Surgery 

 Orthotic and Prosthetic  

 Pharmacy Services: NOTE: MEDICARE eligible recipients 
must be enrolled in a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan 
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MEDICAID SERVICES (continued) 

 

 Physician Service 

 Physician’s Assistant Services 

 Podiatric Services 

 Pre-Admission Screening/Annual Resident Review 

 Pregnancy Related Services 

 Psychological Services 

 Retroactive Medicaid (3 months) 

 Rural Health Clinic/Community Health Center Services 

 Swing Bed Services 

 Targeted Case Management Services 
o Adults w/Aids 
o Chronically Mentally Ill 
o Early Intervention 
o Perinatal 
o Therapeutic Residential Intervention 

 Vision Care Services 

 Waiver Services 
o Community Care 
o Independent Care 
o Mental Retardation 
o Community Habilitation and Support 
o Traumatic Brain Injury 
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Transfer of Assets for Long-Term Care Medicaid: In Medicaid 
for long-term care, which includes nursing home and the 
community care services program, where assets are transferred 
for less than the Fair Market Value within 60 months before 
application for Medicaid is filed; a person may be disqualified for a 
period equal to the value transferred.   
 
(Contact the Division of Aging Services for more information 
about this subject in our publication, “Medicaid for Long-Term 
Care.”) 
 
 

COMMUNITY CARE SERVICES PROGRAM  
 
This program assists eligible Medicaid beneficiaries to live in the 
community and delay or avoid institutionalization. It provides 
Medicaid Coverage and in-home services for persons who meet 
the same medical, functional, and financial criteria for placement 
as residents of a nursing facility, but choose to stay in their own 
homes. If a person's income level exceeds the Federal Benefit 
Rate for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients, there is 
a cost share to participate in the program.  $2,094 is the cap for 
eligibility. Income exceeding this amount will require a Qualified 
Income Trust or Miller Trust for eligibility. Cost share is based 
upon the amount of income over the SSI amount. Some of the 
services available include Personal Care Aide, Adult Day Health, 
Emergency Response System, Nursing Services, etc. 
 
For more information, contact the Community Care Services 
Program Office for your area through the Area Agency on Aging. 
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NURSING HOME MEDICAID  
 
This is a program that enables people, aged, blind or disabled 
who need nursing home care but are unable to afford it a means 
by which to receive care through the Medicaid program.  Income 
exceeding the amount below will require a Qualified Income Trust 
or Miller Trust in order to ensure eligibility. 
 
Income limit:  up to $2,094 per month – per person 
Resources limit:  $2,000 individual; $3,000 couple 

 

 

SPOUSAL IMPOVERISHMENT  
 
This is a program that can prevent a married couple from having 
to spend down all of their resources.  The program allows the 
spouse who remains at home, the Community Spouse, who is not 
receiving Medicaid, to keep up to $2,841.00 of the couple's 
income and $113,640.00 of the couple's resources.   
 
Allowable Resources: the home, a $10,000.00 limit for burial 
exclusions for the applicant/recipient and for the spouse, including 
accounts, life insurance and preneeds contracts, $2,000.00 
savings for the applicant/recipient, household furnishings, certain 
automobiles, and some other items. 
 
Example: For a Nursing Home (NH) bill of $2,000/month, where 
the community spouse has $1,000.00 income and the nursing 
home resident has $1,200 income; the calculations will be as 
follows: 
 
Step 1:   

The NH Resident receives income in the amount of $1,200: 
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$1,200 income (-) $50.00 Personal Needs Allowance (-) 
$130.00 in excess medical expenses (=) $1,020.00 available 
income 

 
Step 2: 

The Community Spouse receives $1,000.00 income: 
           

$1,000.00 income (+) $1,020.00 from NH resident (=) 
$2020.00 total income which is less than $2,841.00, 
therefore community spouse keeps $2,020.00 income, 
leaving $0.00 for the resident’s contribution to the nursing 
home bill and the Medicaid payment is  $2,000.  

 
Incurred excess medical expenses not covered by Medicaid, (i.e. 
dentures, some medications and chiropractic care) may be 
deducted from the NH resident's income.  Most medications 
should be covered by the NH resident’s Medicare Prescription 
Drug Plan for those on Medicare and NH Medicaid. The Division 
of Family and Children Services must be notified.     
                                  
 

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) 
 
For: Those age 65 or older, blind or disabled with income as 
provided below.  Apply at Social Security.   
  

January 2012  
 
   Individual:    $698.00 per month 
   Couple:  $1,048.00 per month 
  
There is a resource limit of $2,000.00 for an individual and 
$3,000.00 for a couple.  Resources include things like cash, 
savings, certificates of deposit (CDs), etc.  Certain things are 
excluded from resources.   
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Examples of things excluded from resources are: home, car up to 
$4,500, prepaid burial plots, caskets, vaults etc. and up to $1,500 
in a burial account, household goods up to $2,000, 
trade/business, and life insurance face value up to $1,500.   
 
Appeal Time: 60 days.   
 
Pickle People: If you received Social Security or Supplemental 
Security Income in the same month and Supplemental Security 
Income was canceled due to a cost of living increase, you may be 
eligible for continued Medicaid if you are eligible but for the cost 
of the living increase.   
Apply at the Division of Family and Children Services. 

 
 

Adult Medically Needy "Spend Down" 
 

Eligible persons are those who are aged 65 or older, blind or 
disabled with high medical bills and income too high for other 
categories of Medicaid. Total unpaid bills must bring income below 
the required limits.  
Apply at the Division of Family and Children Services. 
 

January 2012 
$337.00 
$395.00 

 
Resources:  $2,000 individual; $4,000 couple 

 
Appeal Time: 30 days
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MEDICARE BUY-IN PROGRAMS 

 
There are programs that enable a person with limited income to 
assist with paying for the cost of having Medicare.  Income limits 
change every year when the Federal Poverty Levels change.  
Apply at the Division of Family and Children Services. 
 
1.  Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) 
Covers part B premium, co-insurance and part A & B deductibles; 
does not pay for prescriptions. 
 

Income Limit:   
(Thru April 2012)  
Individual  $   928.00 
Couple   $1,246.00 

 
2. Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLIMB)  
Only covers the Part B Premium. 
 

Income Limit:  
(Thru April 2012) 
Individual  $1,109.00 
Couple   $1,491.00      

 
*Ask about the availability of benefits under the Q-1 program that 

pays the Part B premium.  

 
Effective January 1, 2010, the three Medicare Savings Programs began using the Part D 

low-income subsidy (LIS) asset amount, indexed each year according to the Consumer 

Price Index. 

Resources: $6,680 individual; $10,020 couple 
 

Appeal Time:  30 days (10 days for continued benefits) 
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MEDICARE PART D SUBSIDIES (“Extra Help”) 

 
Full - Provides drug subsidy with low co-payments to Medicare 
beneficiaries with incomes up to 135% of federal poverty level 
and limited resources.  Apply at Social Security. 
 
Income Limit: $1,225.00 individual per month 

       $1,654.88 couple per month 
  

Partial - Provides a partial subsidy of premium, deductible and 
co-insurance to Medicare beneficiaries with incomes up to 150% 
of poverty and limited resources.  
 
Income limit:  $1,361.00 individual per month 

      $1,838.75 couple per month 
 
Resources: $12,640 individual; $25,260 couple 

 
HOSPICE 

 
Hospice cares for the terminally ill and their families.  The goal is 
not to cure but to provide care and counseling to make the final 
stages of life more comfortable.  Hospice, provided by a public or 
private agency that is Medicare or Medicaid approved is for all 
ages, including children and adults. 
 
Services available: 

 Nursing services 
 Medical social services 
 Physician services 
 Counseling 
 Homemaker services 
 Medical equipment (such as wheelchairs, walkers, hospital 

beds) 
 Medical supplies (bandages, catheters) 
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 Prescription drugs for pain 
 Short term stay in the hospital for respite care 
 Home health aide 
 Physical and occupational therapy 
 Speech therapy 
 Social worker services 
 Dietary counseling 
 Grief counseling 
 

Services Not Covered By Hospice 
 

 Treatment to cure the terminal illness 
 Care from a hospice provider other than your approved 

hospice provider 
 The same type of care that your hospice care provider is 

giving you 
 

Medicare Hospice  
 

You pay a possible $5.00 for each outpatient prescription drug 
and similar products for pain relief and symptom control and 
possibly a 5% of the Medicare per day payment amount for 
inpatient respite care.  Medications for one in hospice are also 
covered by either Medicare Part B or Part D. 
 
Medicaid Hospice 

 
Income limit: $2,094 per month 

 

Resources:  $2,000 individual; $3,000 couple 
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Food Stamps (through September 2012) 

Federal Program renamed “SNAP” 

(Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) 

    
    (Elderly) 

HH Size 

HH=household 

165% of 

Poverty 
Gross 

130% 
 Net Income 

    100%   
Max 

Allotment 

1 $1,490 $1,180 $   905 $200 
2 $2,004 $1,594 $1,226 $367 
3 $2,518 $2,008 $1,545 $526 
4 $3,032 $2,422 $1,863 $668 
5 $3,547 $2,836 $2,181 $793 
6 $4,061 $3,249 $2,500 $952 
7 $4,575 $3,663 $2,818 $1,052 
8 $5,089 $4,077 $3,136 $1,202 

Each 

additional 

person 

+$515 +$414 +$319 +$150 

 
An elderly or disabled person's food stamp allotment is based 
upon their net income. Most households must meet the 
maximum gross income to even be considered eligible for the 
program and then meet the net income limit. Apply at the 
Division of Family and Children Services.  Multiply the net 
income by .3 and subtract that figure from the maximum 
food stamp allotment to obtain the household allotment. 
 
Resources: $3,250 elderly (60 and over); $2,000 non-elderly 
 
Exempt Resources: Home and lot; household goods; cars 
exempt.  
Appeal Time: 90 days (10 days continued benefits). 
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Medical expenses in excess of $35.00 can be used to 
increase food stamp allotments for the elderly.  These 
would include one-time medical bills and recurring 
expenses such as Medicare and insurance premiums, 
(when paid by the recipient) and doctor visits.  This now 
includes medical mileage defined as transportation to and 
from medical appointments and the pharmacy in the 
recipient’s own vehicle.  Mileage expenses should be 
reported on Form 840-Medical Transportation Log which is 
available from DFCS. For transportation by taxi, bus, 
train, etc. use the actual cost of the trip to claim it as an 
expense.  
 
      

Other Food Stamp Budget Allowances 
 
Standard Deduction:  $147.00 maximum (1-3 people) 

$155.00 (4+ people) 
 
Shelter Deduction: $459.00   

For elderly households: All shelter costs over half the 
household income may be deducted (i.e. rent/mortgage, 
taxes, interest, utilities – gas, electricity and water) 

 
A dependent care deduction for work, training or education.  
 
A 20% deduction for earned income. 
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For assistance with any of the programs mentioned in 
this information, please contact one of the following: 
 

DIVISION OF FAMILY AND CHILDREN SERVICES 
(Contact the office in your county) 

 
 1.  Nursing Home Medicaid 
 2.  Spousal Impoverishment 
 3.  QMB or SLIMB 
 4.  Adult Medically Needy "Spend Down" 
 5.  Food Stamps 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION 

 (1-800-772-1213) 
  
 1. Social Security 
 2. Supplemental Security Income 
 3. Low income Subsidy or Medicare Part D “Extra Help” 
 
 MEDICARE  
  
 (1-800-MEDICARE)”1-800-633-4227” 
  
   

GEORGIA HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CARE 
ORGANIZATION 

  
 404-323-9397 or 1-877-924-6073 
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MEDICAID 
Georgia Department of Community Health 

 Division of Medical Assistance 
 1-800-766-4456 or (404) 298-1228 

 
 GEORGIA SENIOR LEGAL HOTLINE 

Brief legal advice over the phone for people 60 years of age 
and older 

 1-888-257-9519 or (404) 657-9915 
 

 DIVISION OF AGING SERVICES PROGRAMS 
 1-866-55AGING (552-4464) 

 
 AGING & DISABILITY RESOURCE CONNECTION (ADRC) 

A “one-stop-shop” for information and resources to help you stay in 

your home is available. 

 
 COMMUNITY CARE SERVICES PROGRAM (CCSP) 

Information is available from the Area Agency on Aging Office for your 

area.   

 
 ELDERLY LEGAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (ELAP) 

Legal assistance program providing civil information, education and 

representation at no cost to persons 60 years of age and older when 

brief telephone legal advice is not enough. 

 

For the program that serves your area, contact your Area Agency on 

Aging or the Division of Aging Services. 

 
 GEORGIACARES 

For information on and assistance with prescription drug plans, 

Medicare and other health insurance options, contact a local program. 

    
 LONG-TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN PROGRAM 

If you have someone in a personal care home or nursing home that 

needs an advocate or an extra voice, contact the local ombudsman. 
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AREA AGENCIES ON AGING 

1-866-55AGING (552-4464)

 
Atlanta Regional 

Commission 
Home Office: Atlanta 

 (404) 463-3333 
1-800-676-2433 

 
Central Savannah River 

Area 
Home Office: Augusta 

1-888-922-4464 
 

Coastal Georgia 
Home Office: Brunswick 

1-800-580-6860 
 

GA Mountains (Legacy 
Link, Inc.)  

Home Office: Gainesville 

1-800-845-5465 
 

Heart of Georgia 
Altamaha 

Home Office: Baxley 

1-888-367-9913 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
River Valley 

Home Office: Columbus 

1-800-615-4379 
 

Middle Georgia 
Home Office: Macon 

1-888-548-1456 
 

Northeast Georgia 
Home Office: Athens 

1-800-474-7540 
 

Northwest Georgia 
Home Office: Rome 

1-800-759-2963 
 

Southern Crescent/ 
Three Rivers 

Home Office: Franklin 

1-866-854-5652 
 

Southern Georgia 
Home Office: Waycross 

1-888-732-4464 
 

Southwest Georgia 
Home Office: Albany 

1-800-282-6612 
 
 

 
For resources in the community, please contact the Aging& Disability 

Resource Connection within your Area Agency on Aging. 
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Notes 
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Natalie K. Thomas, Esq. 

State Legal Services Developer 

Georgia Department of Human Services 

Division of Aging Services 

2 Peachtree Street, NW; Suite 33.384 

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3142 

 (404) 657-5328 

nkthomas@dhr.state.ga.us 

mailto:nkthomas@dhr.state.ga.us

